top of page

Whatcom County Republican Party Nomination for State Senate Clarification

Whatcom County Republican Party Nomination for State Senate Clarification Statement | From The Candidate Development Committee as reported to the Executive Board and the Central Committee.

The unfortunate loss of Senator Doug Ericksen resulted in a series of events that led to an appointment to fill the seat January 2022. The criteria were set forth by the Executive Board of the WCRP. Over 80 individuals were considered by the Candidate Development Committee (CDC) of Whatcom County Republicans. The CDC narrowed down the selection based on the following commitments that were required to become one of the three nominees:

1. Immediate availability for the session which was to begin Jan 10 and fill the remaining one-year term.

2. A commitment to run for the four-year term, as the incumbent if they were appointed by the County Council.

3. Each candidate had to assure the CDC that there were no “background issues” that could cause a problem for them or the Republican Party.

4. Each candidate was asked that if not appointed by the County Council they would support the individual that was selected which included not running against the incumbent.

Candidates that could not make these commitments were removed from consideration. Candidates were also interviewed and considered based on their position on various issues and ability to communicate their beliefs in support of the Republican platform.

The three individuals, Tasha Dykstra Thompson, Ben Elenbaas, and Simon Sefzik all made the above commitments to the Republican Party and were the nominees forwarded to the County Council which made the final selection. On January 11, Simon Sefzik was chosen and sworn in as Senator for the 42nd District.

707 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page