top of page

Whatcom Republicans announce three nominees to fill senate vacancy

The Whatcom County Republican Party Central Committee announces the nomination of three individuals to fill the vacancy left by the December 17 death of Senator Doug Ericksen.

Today the names of Ben Elenbaas, Tawsha Dykstra Thompson, and Simon Sefzik were forwarded to the Whatcom County Council, who are to select one of these candidates at their January 4 meeting to finish the term of Sen. Ericksen.

“Even in our deep sorrow and grief we believe that Doug would have wanted us to work quickly to find a solid conservative Republican to carry on his legacy in Olympia,” said Whatcom Republican Chair John Ramsey. “To that end, the local Republican party has nominated three highly qualified individuals, one of whom is to carry on the important work of Sen. Ericksen in the Washington State Legislature.”

The 2022 legislative session is set to begin on January 10, and it is expected that a new senator for the 42nd legislative district will be sworn in for the beginning of the session.

Over the holidays local Republicans undertook an intensive and deliberative process to review dozens of candidates and then met on Thursday, December 30, to vote and forward the recommended three names to the county council.

“I am really proud of the hard work of our Republican party members who, on very short notice and on a tight deadline, put forward three equally strong candidates for consideration,” said Ramsey. “This important decision to fill the vacancy in a timely manner now rests with the county council.”

Follow the special January 4 proceedings via this Zoom link to watch as the council members select the next 42nd legislative district senator:

Tuesday, January 4, 2022; 1:00 p.m.

Special Council Meeting

Join by phone:

Dial 253-215-8782

Webinar/Meeting ID:884 2039 1347

Passcode: 2022

1,037 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page